Germany Takes the World Cup

Germany Takes the World Cup (Image 1)

The 24-year wait for Germany to again hold a World Cup title ends with yesterdays final match.

Mario Goetze scored the winning goal in extra time to give Germany a 1-0 victory over Argentina in a tense game.

When West Germany beat Argentina in the 1990 final Goetze wasn’t born yet. In the 113th minute of the extra time, Goetze scores in one fluid motion as the ball flies past goalkeeper Sergio Romero inside the far post.

This goal gave Germany its fourth World Cup title in its eighth final, which left Argentina star Lionel Messi walking off the field with his head down.

Though Argentina star Lionel Messi comes up short on his chance for a goal, he still walks away with great honor.

Messi takes the Golden Ball award for Argentina, while James Rodriguez receives the Golden Boot, Manuel Neuer the Golden Glove for Germany, and Paul Pogba gets the Young Player Award.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s