Furman’s Magwood Named SoCon Defensive Player Of The Year

cory magwood

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference Sports Media Association selected its football all-conference team and specialty awards for the 2015 season. Chattanooga quarterback Jacob Huesman earned the Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year honor for the second consecutive season, while Furman linebacker Cory Magwood was chosen as the defensive player of the year. Samford wide receiver Kelvin McKnight was tabbed the freshman of the year and The Citadel’s Mike Houston was named the Wallace Wade Coach of the Year.

Huesman joins select company as just the fifth player to win the Roy M. “Legs” Hawley award in back-to-back years since the league split the awards into offensive and defensive categories in 1986. Huseman joins Marshall’s Michael Payton (1991-92), Furman’s Louis Ivory (2000-01), Appalachian State’s Armanti Edwards (2008-09) and Wofford’s Eric Breitenstein (2011-12) as the only players to win the award in consecutive seasons. Huesman was named the league’s Player of the Week four times as a senior and will finish his career in the top three for total offense, most rushing yards by a quarterback and most career touchdown passes.

Magwood becomes the first Paladin to claim the media’s defensive player of the year honor since William Freeman in 2004. The senior finished second in the league in total tackles (127) and paced the SoCon in solo stops (69). Magwood recorded double-digit tackles in eight games this season. He was credited with five tackles for loss, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. Magwood was named the league’s defensive player of the week on Nov. 2 after recording 16 tackles in a come-from-behind win over Samford.

McKnight joins former Samford quarterback Justin Taliaferro (2008) as the only two Bulldogs to earn the league’s freshman of the year award. McKnight ranked third in the league in receptions per game (5.2 rpg) and was seventh in receiving yards per contest (56.0 ypg). In addition to his yards receiving, McKnight returned 15 punts for 189 yards on the season, including a 77-yard return for a touchdown in the season finale at Mercer. He added 13 rushes for 88 yards and a touchdown on the ground.

Mike Houston becomes the fifth coach of The Citadel to earn the Wallace Wade award, joining Eddie Teague (1961), Tom Moore (1984), Charlie Taaffe (1990) and Kevin Higgins (2012). Houston guided the Bulldogs to an 8-3 record and a 6-1 mark in league play after being picked seventh in preseason balloting. The Citadel earned a share of the conference championship for the first time since 1992. Its six league wins were the most since 1992 and the Bulldogs closed the regular season with a 23-22 win over South Carolina.

The group also selected two all-conference teams to go along with the specialty awards. Chattanooga led all schools with seven first-team selections. Western Carolina had a total of 10 players earn all-conference honors, including six on the second team. The Citadel and Samford each had eight all-conference honorees. All eight SoCon schools were represented on both all-conference teams. Due to a tie in the voting, there was a position added at linebacker on the second team.

2015 Media All-Southern Conference Football Team

Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year – Jacob Huesman, Sr., QB, Chattanooga

Defensive Player of the Year – Cory Magwood, Sr., LB, Furman

Freshman of the Year – Kelvin McKnight, WR, Samford

Wallace Wade Coach of the Year – Mike Houston, The Citadel


First Team Offense

QB       Jacob Huesman, Sr., Chattanooga

RB        Derrick Craine, Jr., Chattanooga

RB        Detrez Newsome, So., Western Carolina

OL        Sam Frye, Sr., The Citadel

OL        Gunnar Bromelow, Sr., Samford

OL        Synjen Herren, Sr., Chattanooga

OL        Corey Levin, Jr., Chattanooga

OL        Anton Wahrby, Jr., Wofford

TE        Tyler Sexton, Jr., Western Carolina

WR       Karel Hamilton, Jr., Samford

WR       Aaron Sanders, Jr., VMI


First Team Defense

DL        Mitchell Jeter, Sr., The Citadel

DL        Michael Pierce, Sr., Samford

DL        Keionta Davis, Jr., Chattanooga

DL        Caleb Hawkins, Sr., Western Carolina

LB        Cory Magwood, Sr., Furman

LB        Nakevion Leslie, Jr., Chattanooga

LB        Daniel Riddle, So., Western Carolina

DB       Dee Delaney, So., The Citadel

DB       Trey Robinson, Jr., Furman

DB       Jamerson Blount, Jr., Samford

DB       Lucas Webb, So., Chattanooga


First Team Specialists

PK        Anthony Pistelli, Sr., Samford

P          Matt Shiel, So., Mercer

RS        Dane Forlines, Jr., VMI


Second Team Offense

QB       Troy Mitchell, Sr., Western Carolina

RB        Tee Mitchell, So., Mercer

RB        Lorenzo Long, Jr., Wofford

OL        Kyle Weaver, Jr., The Citadel

OL        Joe Turner, Sr., Furman

OL        Bret Niederreither, Jr., Mercer

OL        Jake Thornton, Sr., Western Carolina

OL        Josh Wineberg, Sr., Western Carolina

TE        Robert Brown, Jr., Mercer

WR       Andrej Suttles, Jr., Furman

WR       Emmanuel Obajimi, Jr., Samford


Second Team Defense

DL        Ahmad Gooden, Fr., Samford

DL        Josh Freeman, Sr., Chattanooga

DL        Joe Nelson, Jr., VMI

DL        Miles Brown, Fr., Wofford

LB        Tevin Floyd, Jr., The Citadel

LB        Tosin Aguebor, Jr., Mercer

LB        Ryan Francis, So., VMI

LB        Tyson Dickson, Jr., Western Carolina

DB       Reggie Thomas, Sr., Furman

DB       James Bradberry, Sr., Samford

DB       Sertonuse Harris, Sr., Western Carolina

DB       Brion Anderson, Sr., Wofford


Second Team Specialists

PK        Eric Goins, Jr., The Citadel

P          Ian Berryman, Fr., Western Carolina

RS        Quinlan Washington, Fr., The Citadel

blog comments powered by Disqus