Clemson’s Deshaun Watson finishes 3rd in Heisman Voting; Derrick Henry Wins

Deshaun Watson
Clemson quarterback DeShaun Watson indicated Wednesday night he'll consider leaving for the NFL after next season.

NEW YORK (AP) – Derrick Henry has won the Heisman Trophy, becoming the second Alabama player to receive college football’s most prestigious player of the year award.

The Crimson Tide’s super-sized tailback is just the third running back to take the Heisman in the past 16 years. The only other Alabama player to win the Heisman was Mark Ingram, who was also the last running back to win the trophy in 2009.

Stanford’s do-it-all running back Christian McCaffrey was the runner-up. Deshaun Watson, quarterback of No. 1 Clemson, finished third.

The 242-pound Henry broke Herschel Walker’s Southeastern Conference record with 1,986 yards rushing and matched an SEC mark with 23 touchdowns, leading No. 2 Alabama to the College Football Playoff. The Tide (12-1) plays Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl on Dec. 31.

Final Results
1.	Derrick Henry		Alabama		RB	JR	378	277	144	1,832
2.	Christian McCaffrey	Stanford	RB	SO	290	246	177	1,539
3.	Deshaun Watson		Clemson		QB	SO	148	240	241	1,165
4.	Baker Mayfield		Oklahoma	QB	JR	34	55	122	334
5. 	Keenan Reynolds		Navy		RB	SR	20	17	86	180
6. 	Leonard Fournette	LSU		RB	SO	10	25	30	110
7. 	Dalvin Cook		FSU		QB	SO	7	18	22	79
8. 	Ezekiel Elliot		Ohio St.	RB	JR	5	7	28	57
9. 	Connor Cook		Michigan St.	QB	SR	2	3	1	13
9	Trevone Boykin		TCU		WR	SR	1	3	4	13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s