Panthers Lead The Way With 10 Pro-Bowlers

The National Football League announced that ten Carolina Panthers were named to the Pro Bowl this year.

Six offensive players – quarterback Cam Newton, tight end Greg Olsen, running back Jonathan Stewart, fullback Mike Tolbert, center Ryan Kalil and guard Trai Turner – along with four defensive players – linebackers Thomas Davis and Luke Kuechly, cornerback Josh Norman and defensive tackle Kawann Short – were selected.

These are the first career Pro Bowl selections for Stewart, Turner, Davis, Norman and Short.

“It’s truly an honor to be selected to the Pro Bowl,” Davis said. “All the hard work and dedication I’ve put into the game has paid off. I’m extremely excited and I couldn’t be more thankful to the fans who took their time to vote me in, as well as my fellow players and coaches.

“To have 10 guys selected says a lot about our team. It says a lot about our fans and how highly they thought of us this season, and I think it says a lot about the way our season has gone. I’m excited and thankful to be part of the 10.”

The 2016 Pro Bowl will be played on January 31 and televised live on ESPN from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The Pro Bowl players were determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counts one-third toward determining the 88 All-Star players who are eligible for the Pro Bowl Draft.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s