Memorial honoring fallen officers to be built in Spartanburg

The Spartanburg County Sheriff’s Office held a groundbreaking ceremony for a new memorial on Thursday afternoon.

The memorial will honor the memory of the ten local officers who have died, within Spartanburg County, in the line of duty.

According to the county officials, these are the officers who will be honored on the memorial:

– Deputy Sheriff Kevin Carper, Spartanburg Co. Sheriff’s Office (Febuary 27th, 2007)

– Chief of Police Joe Cletus Wall, Chesnee Police Department (June 9th, 1967)

– Officer Clarence P. McGee, Pacolet Police Department (July 18, 1963)

– Patrolman Thomas Fox Abrams, Spartanburg Police Department (January 7, 1962)

– Chief of Police Guyon Loxie Phillips Sr., Chesnee Police Department (July 1, 1936)

– Rural Police Officer Ellis A. Shields, Spartanburg Co. Sheriff’s Office (October 1, 1925)

– Rural Police Officer James R. Snoddy, Spartanburg Co. Sheriff’s Office (June 4, 1925)

– Constable Hampton Patterson, Spartanburg Co. Sheriff’s Office (August 26, 1923)

– Guard Robert Stephens, Spartanburg Co. Detention Facility (October 26, 1914)

– Night Police Officer Willis “Zonk” Foster, Greer Police Department (July 2, 1904)

Construction is set to begin immediately, at no cost to taxpayers, according to Lieutenant Kevin Bobo with the Spartanburg County Sheriff’s Office.

It’s expected to be completed by May 1st, 2016.

A dedication and wreath-laying ceremony is planned for Friday, May 13th which is Law Enforcement Memorial Day.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s