Spurrier Named To High School Hall Of Fame

Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Former South Carolina football coach Steve Spurrier has been selected to the National High School Hall of Fame induction class.

The National Federation of State High School Associations announced the 12-person induction class Tuesday that includes Spurrier, who earned all-state honors in baseball, football and basketball while attending Science Hill High School in Johnson City, Tennessee. They will be inducted July 2 in Reno, Nevada.

Spurrier stepped down as South Carolina’s football coach last season.

The induction class also includes former athletes Ken Beardslee, Marlin Briscoe, Joni Huntley and Tom Southall plus former coaches Pete Boudreaux, Jack Holloway, Peg Kopec and Chuck Kyle as well as former official Eugene “Lefty” Wright and former administrators Tim Flannery and Ennis Proctor.

The National High School Hall of Fame was started in 1982.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s