SoCon Announces Hall Of Fame Class

Southern Conference

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The NBA’s reigning MVP, the only two-time winner of the Walter Payton Award and an eight-time PGA TOUR winner highlight the Southern Conference Hall of Fame class for 2016. This year’s group of individuals represents the sixth class of inductees into the league’s Hall of Fame, highlighting 95 years of athletic success.

Inductees include Stephen Curry (Davidson), Armanti Edwards (Appalachian State), Brad Faxon (Furman), Keith “Mister” Jennings (ETSU) and Karen Pelphrey (Marshall).

“This year’s group of inductees is one of the most impressive since the Hall’s inaugural class of 2009,” said Commissioner John Iamarino. “It features not only the current MVP of the NBA, but two other former SoCon basketball Players of the Year, one of the winningest quarterbacks in NCAA history, and a former collegiate golfer of the year who went on to win multiple PGA events. It is a remarkable group.”

Student-athletes who competed for a minimum of two seasons in the Southern Conference were eligible for consideration, along with coaches and administrators who spent at least five years in the league. A pool of more than 200 candidates from the conference’s current and former member institutions were nominated for consideration. The pool of former student-athletes, coaches and administrators was cut down to 40 individuals, who comprised the final ballot. A voting panel of 20 media members and league administrators made the selection of the induction class.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s