Weekend Of Champions: Abbeville Takes 2A Title

Associated Press

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) – Cortney Jackson ran for three touchdowns and Abbeville rallied from an early 14-3 deficit to win its second straight state title with a 44-21 victory over Batesburg-Leesville in the South Carolina high school football championship Friday night.

Jackson scored on six, eight and four yard runs in the second quarter as Abbeville (14-0-1) took a 24-21 lead after trailing early. The Panthers took control of things after the break as they held the ball for more than 25 minutes on the way to the school’s eighth state title.

Abbeville rushed for 293 yards. Quarterback Jamie Gray had a 1-yard TD run, T.J. Rogers rushed for a 14-yard score and Jermaine Blackwell finished the scoring with a 3-yard run in the final quarter.

Batesburg-Leesville (10-5) broke out fast on scoring runs of 17 yards by Bishop Cannon and 27 yards by Tyreek Tolan to lead 14-3 in the opening quarter.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s