MANETO, N.C. (AP) — Officials in a coastal North Carolina county have limited the amount of time that dogs can be tethered without a break.
The Virginian-Pilot of Norfolk reported dogs in Dare County can be tethered now for no more than three hours a day.
A first offense could bring a $100 fine. A second offense could draw a $500 fine and confiscation of the dog.
Erica Geppi is the director of the Humane Society of the United States in North Carolina. She said in an email that more than 20 North Carolina counties have passed stricter tether laws.
The ordinance approved earlier this month exempts owners who tether dogs temporarily for such activities as hunting or law-enforcement training. It requires that tethered dogs have access to food, water and shelter.
Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
More stories you may like on 7News
SC House District 31 held a primary election on Tuesday to determine who would run against each other in the general election for the seat.
West Union Police Chief, Charles Edward Sanders, Jr., died Tuesday afternoon after having a cardiac arrest.
Scary moments for an Upstate college student after her car window was shot out Monday night. Her family says it happened near one of the bus…
The Greenwood Police Department says they are aware of Facebook post that alleges a man is trying to abduct women.
A teen is accused of hitting a car, running the driver off the road and kicking the car, according to a report by Union Police.