Results from House District 31 special election

SPARTANBURG, SC (WSPA) – A new state representative was elected Tuesday in Spartanburg.

Democratic candidate Rosalyn Henderson Myers defeated Republican Mike Fowler by 990 votes. She currently serves on Spartanburg City Council for District 3.

Myers spoke with 7 News during a watch party with supporters.

“There are some things I want to make sure that we get funding for in terms of education for our public school system,” she said. “I want to make sure that we provide funding for programs that will reduce crime. I still want to make sure that we continue this economic development that we have here in Spartanburg.”

The District 31 house seat opened after Harold Mitchell resigned in May.

Below are the unofficial results:
Rosalyn Henderson Myers – 1,099 (90.83%)
Michael A. Fowler – 109 (9.01%)

Total voter turnout was 6.45 percent.

More stories you may like on 7News